A dozen bridges – when recumbents meet Bromptons

I thought it would be fun to have a cycle ride with both superior forms of the bicycle art: recumbents and Bromptons. Fourteen members of the London Brompton Club and London Recumbent Club zig-zagged down the Thames, crossing all the bridges from Tower Bridge to Battersea Bridge inclusive, stopping for tea & cake in Battersea Park, then reversing the route … 

A very pleasant 24-mile ride in perfect winter weather.

dozen

Immediate automated upload of the ride to Strava enabled me to very temporarily sneak into the top ten before anyone else had a chance to get home and upload their tracklog. 🙂

strava

Yeah, I have no shame.

About Ben Lovejoy

EU Editor of 9to5Mac. Sometime novelist. Likes words, tech, photographs, bicycles, drones, places that are London, places that aren't London.
This entry was posted in London, Trike and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A dozen bridges – when recumbents meet Bromptons

  1. RainyWriter says:

    I had the sound off as I watched the video (my wife is sleeping) … and even then, it seemed like a pretty nice ride.

    I had not known that the folding bikes were known as Bromptons. I Googled it. A nice video to watch … and learned a new word.

  2. Ben Lovejoy says:

    Bromptons are one particular brand of folding bikes (and the best by far in my view). You can read about mine here: http://www.benlovejoy.com/cycle/brompton/

  3. Mick Blackman says:

    A super video Ben, I loved the music. Could you divulge the location of the Park/Coffee Stop at time Frame: 1.10 minutes please, it looked rather nice for a visit?

Leave a comment